February 21, 2011



Norwegian musician Harald Nævda, better known as Demonaz, stopped playing guitar with Immortal in 1997 due to a hand injury, but he never technically left the band. He still wrote a good part of the group's lyrics - no small component of Immortal's grim and frostbitten aesthetic - and participated in interviews. So while he remains in the shadows, Demonaz is still a big part of the band. Now he's branching into making music on his own, as his solo debut March of the Norse will be released on April 1 through Nuclear Blast, also the current label of Immortal. From what I've heard so far, there's a strong influence from Bathory's Viking-metal era. Nothing wrong with that.

Demonaz wrote all the music and lyrics and sings on this release. He got Immortal's Abbath on bass, former Immortal drummer Armagedda, and Enslaved guitarist Ice Dale to play on the record. Essentially, it's a reunion of the Diabolical Fullmoon Mysticism lineup plus Dale. Abbath, Dale, and Armagedda also played on the I record Between Two Worlds, which was made while Immortal were inactive. Demonaz contributed lyrics to that as well.

Check out a tracklist, the cover, and a couple songs after the jump. Immortal are currently in the States doing a limited run of dates with Texas warlocks Absu. Those remaining dates will also be available below.

Demonaz - March Of The Norse

01. Northern Hymn
02. All Blackened Sky
03. March Of The Norse
04. A Son Of The Sword
05. Where Gods Once Rode
06. Under The Great Fires
07. Over The Mountains
08. Ode To Battle
09. Legends Of Fire And Ice
10. Dying Sun (bonus track)
"Over the Mountains"

"Under the Dying Sun"

All Shall Fall U.S.A. 2011
Feb. 21 - Pittsburgh, PA - Mr. Small's Theatre
Feb. 22 - Chicago, IL - Bottom Lounge
Feb. 24 - Denver, CO - Summit Theatre
Feb. 26 - San Antonio, TX - Backstage Live

No comments: